KENNEDY ELEMENTARY

Manistee Area Public Schools

Welcome to Kennedy – Grades 3-5

Mariners aim to be leaders in our own way at school, at home, and in our community. Through learning, we explore our world, inspire our potential, and achieve our goals. Together Mariners Lead the Way to a brighter future.

Mariners Lead the Way!

Please Note!

KENNEDY ELEMENTARY will be operating from the Madison Community Learning Center location for the 2023/24 and 2024/25 school years during the construction of our consolidated elementary school building. 

MAPS students grades 3-5 will will attend school at 1309 Madison Rd. (off of 28th Street), directions: MAP

 

Madison Main Building entrance
2023/24 School Nutrition Services Information

We are pleased to inform you that we will be participating in the Community Eligibility Provision (CEP) as part of the National School Lunch and School Breakfast Programs.

The GREAT NEWS is that ALL students enrolled at Manistee Area Public Schools can receive a healthy breakfast and lunch at NO CHARGE to your household each day.

As we start this program for the 23/24 school year, we ask that each household complete a Household Information Report found online at: https://manisteeps.familyportal.cloud. Click "Apply for benefits" to get started. This report only takes five minutes to fill out and must be completed by each household in our District. Paper copies are available upon request. We also ask that you pay any lunch balance due from the prior school year. The CEP Program cannot be in place with overdue balances remaining.

In addition, the Household Information Report is critical in determining the amount of money that our school receives from a variety of State and Federal supplemental programs like Title I A, At-risk (31a), Title II A, E-Rate, etc. These supplemental programs have the potential to offer supports and services for our students including, but not limited to:

  • Instructional support (staff, supplies & materials, etc.)
  • Non-instructional services (counseling, social work, health services, etc.)
  • Professional Learning for staff
  • Parent and Community engagement supplies and activities
  • Technology

We are asking that you please complete and submit the Household Information Report as soon as possible to ensure that additional funding for our school is available to meet the needs of our students. All information on the report submitted is confidential. Without your assistance in completing and returning the report, our school cannot maximize the use of available State and Federal funds. If we can be of any further assistance, please contact us.

Sincerely,

Keri Carlson Nutrition Services Director

 

Kennedy Parking Lot Map

Kennedy Announcements

MAPS ATP Winterfest Weekend at MMHS

Kennedy Student Talent Show Fri Feb 23rd at 6pm Public welcome! Students showcase their talents on stage Student Artwork for Silent Auction Baskets for auction filled with great offerings from our students, faculty and community All proceeds benefit MAPS ATP and FAB...

read more

12-11-23 Prairie Farms Vendor Update

12-11-23 Vendor Update Prairie Farms, our local supplier for milk, has informed us that they have a growing issue with carton shortages. To maintain our ability to serve milk, beginning the week of December 11 and into the New Year, students and the individuals we...

read more

Your Kennedy Team


Location: 1309 Madison Rd, Manistee, MI 49660 | Map
Telephone: (231) 723-3271
Fax: (231) 723-5879
School Office Hours: M-Th: 7:30am – 4pm, Friday 7:30am – 3pm


Principal: Joanie Wiersma jwiersma@manistee.org
Administrative Assistant: Carly Cheever ccheever@manistee.org

View Kennedy Staff
Administrative Team

Principal: Joanie Wiersma | jwiersma@manistee.org

Administrative Assistant: Carly Cheever | ccheever@manistee.org


Instructional Staff

Jennifer Abel
Resource Room  jabel@manistee.org

Wendy Adamski 
Specials - PE/Health wadamski@manistee.org 

Leah Antal 
3rd Grade Teacher lantal@manistee.org 

William Edmondson
4th Grade Teacher  wedmondson@manistee.org

Amanda Feyen
Elementary Music  afeyen@manistee.org

Tanya Hunter
5th Grade Teacher thunter@manistee.org

Jaclyn Kaminski
5th Grade Teacher jkaminski@manistee.org

Andrea Mack 
Specials - Instrumental Music amack@manistee.org 

Tina Mannon 
4th Grade tmannon@manistee.org 

Taylor Mellon 
5th Grade Teacher tmellon@manistee.org 

Alayna Neilly
3rd Grade Teacher aneilly@manistee.org

Emily Noteware 
Resource Room enoteware@manistee.org  

Sarah Padgett
4th Grade Teacher spadgett@manistee.org

Michael Rosteck
Specials - Elementary Art mrosteck@manistee.org

Rose Savela
5th Grade Teacher rsavela@manistee.org 

Kayla Szokola 
3rd Grade Teacher kszokola@manistee.org

Sam Zeller
Elementary Coding szeller@manistee.org

Kelly Zimmerman  
4th Grade Teacher kzimmerman@manistee.org

Non-Instructional Staff

Gabby Applegarth
Academic Specialist  gapplegarth@manistee.org

Krista Bennett
Math Coach kbennett@manistee.org

Linda Coyle
Academic Specialist  lcoyle@manistee.org

Chasity Gouker
Title I Reading/Literacy Coach  cgouker@manistee.org

Emma Peake
SafeNet  epeake@manistee.org

Andra Shobe
Academic Specialist  ashobe@manistee.org

Para-Professionals

Ingrid Bond  ibond@manistee.org

Jill Johnson jjohnson@manistee.org

Natalie Knickerbocker nknickerbocker@manistee.org

Maggie Madsen mmadsen@manistee.org

Alissa Stickel astickel@manistee.org

Nutrition Services

Carol Hansen  chansen@manistee.org

Laura Olk  lolk@manistee.org

Custodial Staff

Don Froncek dfroncek@manistee.org

Johnny Skocelas jskocelas@manistee.org

 

 

ATP Mariner Logo Horizontal
2023-2024 Meeting Schedule
September 13
October 11
November 8
December 13
January 10
February 14
March 13
April 10
May 8
 
All meetings are held 5:30 pm to 6:30 pm and are located in Mrs. Bradford’s classroom at Jefferson Elementary.
Current Officers

Shannon Patrick, ATP President
Katrina Jankowski, ATP Vice President
Kim Anderson, ATP Secretary
Kris Brandt, ATP Treasurer

ATP Contact Information

ATP Contact: mapsatp1@gmail.com and we can be found on Facebook as MAPS Elementary ATP

Building Contacts: Jefferson: Julia Raddatz raddatzj@manistee.org, or Kennedy: Joanie Wiersma jwiersma@manistee.org

 

MAPS Elementary ATP (Assembly for Teachers & Parents)

What is ATP?: ATP is our parent-teacher group for all of the MAPS Elementary buildings – Jefferson and Kennedy, grades Pre-K through 5.

Parents who become involved in their child’s education can make a positive difference.

 
What does ATP do?

We fundraise to help support our schools and students. We pay for field trips, school supplies, recess/playground equipment, books, staff appreciation activities, and more! We also organize many family events: Fall Carnival, Daddy-Daughter and Mother-Son nights, Holiday Caroling, Birthday Lunches, Book Fairs, and Santa Shop are some examples.

What are the objectives of the ATP?

The MAPS Elementary ATP (Assembly of Teachers & Parents), is a dedicated group parents that spearhead projects to benefit our students grades Pre-K through 5th. It is similar to a Parent Teacher Organization (PTO) only a little more prescriptive and based on committees, including:

  • Parenting
  • Communicating
  • Volunteering
  • Learning at Home
  • Decision Making
  • Community Collaboration
ATP Points Tracker

Starting January 2019, ATP is starting a point tracker for volunteers!

How do I earn points?

  • Every ATP event (popcorn day, slushy day, winter carnival, etc.) every 2 hours you volunteer, you earn 1 point.
  • For showing up to our ATP meeting that’s once a month, you earn 1 point.
  • For suggesting a friend to volunteer & they show up for at least 2 hours, you earn 1 point.

All the points you earn will be entered for a drawing. At the end of the year, we will choose two winners. We hope to have a ton of volunteers!

Your Journey Continues at Kennedy Elementary

The staff at Kennedy Elementary are looking forward to an exciting school year. Kennedy Elementary offers a challenging academic program along with many athletic opportunities and after school programs. We are proud of the programs our school offers and encourage you to work hard, do your best, and find success both academically and in your personal accomplishments.

We offer the following programs throughout the year:

  • PowerLearning 1:1 iPad instruction
  • Data Driven Instruction
  • Guaranteed & Viable Curriculum
  • Educational based field trips & assemblies
  • Paraprofessional Assistance
  • After-School Tutoring
  • Response to Intervention (RTI) & Multi-Tiered System of Supports (MTSS)
  • Safenet
  • Child Study Meetings
Mariners are On Track gold logo

As Manistee Mariners, we are all leaders in our own way. Mariners lead at school, with friends, and in the community by developing healthy relationships, using responsible decision-making and respectful communication.

Mariners are:

T | TRUSTWORTHY — Always tell the truth

R | RESPECTFUL — Listen and are polite

A | ACCEPTING — Friends to all

C | COOPERATIVE — Work as a team

K | KIND — Thoughtful and caring


“TRACK” is the Manistee Area Public Schools global, district-wide, leaders platform that all educators, staff and students follow throughout their educational journey.  This initiative is connected to course curriculum,  extra curricular programs,  disciplinary procedures, and internal culture.