Manistee Area Public Schools Faculty & Staff

Explore. Inspire. Achieve.

We encourage our Mariners to develop a focused vision for their future. Our students are engaged by specialized and compassionate educators that encourage all learners to explore their world, inspire them to recognize their potential, and support them to achieve their individualized goals.

Mariners Lead the Way!

single color blue primary id mark

Central Office & Administration


Location: 525 12th St, Manistee, MI 49660 | Map
Telephone: (231) 723-3521
Fax: (231) 723-1507
Central Office Hours: M-F: 8:30am – 4:30pm


Superintendent: Ronald Stoneman
Board of Education President: Theresa Anderson

Central Office Staff

Ronald Stoneman
Superintendent - rstoneman@manistee.org

Howard Vaas
Business Manager - hvaas@manistee.org

Amber Kowatch
Curriculum Director - akowatch@manistee.org

Sue Gustad
Assistant Business Manager - sgustad@manistee.org

Sara Schubert
Payroll/Human Resources/Insurance/Lunch - sschubert@manistee.org

Carrie Cameron
Administrative Assistant - ccameron@manistee.org

 

Our Staff

View MMHS Staff
MMHS Staff  
 
 Name Title / Grade / Content Area Email
 Administrative Staff 
 Andy Huber HS/MS Principal ahuber@manistee.org
 Morgan Nowicki Assistant Principal mnowicki@manistee.org
 Bridget WarnkeDean of Students bwarnke@manistee.org
 Karen BeldoAdministrative Assistant kbeldo@manistee.org
 Kasandra JohnsonAdministrative Assistant kkjohnson@manistee.org
 Guidance 
 Paul Howes Guidance Counselor phowes@manistee.org
 Tara Lange Guidance Administrative Assistant / Registrar tlange@manistee.org
   
   
 Activities 
Kenn KottAthletic Directorkkott@manistee.org
 Kendra MikolajczakActivities Secretary/Athletics Administrative Assistantkmikolajczak@manistee.org
  District Technology 
 Kenneth Blakey-Shell District Technology Director kblakeyshell@manistee.org
 Gabe Delgado Elementary Device Supportgdelgado@manistee.org
Matt Froncek Apple Certified Technician mfroncek@manistee.org
David Gagstetter Data & Device Systems Managerdgagstetter@manistee.org
   
   
  MMHS School Instructional Staff 
 Stacey Andrews-RamseySpanishsandrews@manistee.org
 Gregg BennettSocial Sciencegbennett@manistee.org
 Kylee BohlePEkbohle@manistee.org
 Troy Bytwork Social Science tbytwork@manistee.org
 Amanda Clemons Language Arts aclemons@manistee.org
 Jane Deising Special Education jdeising@manistee.org
 Rachel Edmondson Language Artsreedmondson@manistee.org
 Cindy Erdman Special Education cerdman@manistee.org
 Amanda Feyen Choir afeyen@manistee.org
 Joe Hendges Social Science jhendges@manistee.org
 Marcy Huber Math mhuber@manistee.org
 Kristen Johnson Special Education kjohnson@manistee.org
 Sam Joseph Language Arts sjoseph@manistee.org
 Brooke Koller Special Education bkoller@manistee.org
 Andrea Mack Instrumental Music amack@manistee.org
 Cassie Miller PE/Health cmmiller@manistee.org
 Erryn Moore Math emoore@manistee.org
 Troy Nezki Math tnezki@manistee.org
 Cheryl O'Connor Social Studies coconnor@manistee.org
 Ryan O'Donnell Science rodonnell@manistee.org
 Mary Olson Science molson@manistee.org
 Amber Poortvliet Science apoortvliet@manistee.org
 Kevin Postma Science kpostma@manistee.org
 Amber Puchtel Art apuchtel@manistee.org
 Lucas Quakkelaar Language Artslquakkelaar@manistee.org
 Tobia Purple Special Education tpurple@manistee.org
 Dan Saylor Social Sciencedsaylor@manistee.org
 Polly Schlaff Language Arts pschlaff@manistee.org
 Devin Schweigert Sciencedschweigert@manistee.org
Whitney Simic-Finch Math wsimicfinch@manistee.org
 Joel Smith Social Studies smithj@manistee.org
 Kathy Smith Math ksmith@manistee.org
 Hannah Starmann Language Arts hstarmann@manistee.org
 Amy Watkins Math awatkins@manistee.org
   
Thressa AmbroseAcademic Specialisttambrose@manistee.org
   
Paraprofessionals
Ingrid BondBand Paraprofessionalibond@manistee.org
Logan BondGeneral Supervisionlbond@manistee.org
Carrie CameronGeneral Supervisionccameron@manistee.org
Courtney ColeOne to One Paraprofessionalccole@manistee.org
Alyssa DewittGeneral Supervisionadewitt@manistee.org
Todd GarberGeneral Supervisiontgarber@manistee.org
Kristen MezeskeSensory / General Supervisionkmezeske@manistee.org
Cindy SheathelmParaprofessionalcsheathelm@manistee.org
 Robert Von HerbruckBuilding Substitute rvonherbruck@manistee.org
 Jennifer WilliamsMS Activities Director / Sensory / Library jwilliams@manistee.org
   
 MMHS School Custodial
   
James Kropacek Custodian jkropacek@manistee.org
Dan Lloyd Custodian dlloyd@manistee.org
Steve Sciba Custodian ssciba@manistee.org
Susan Steinberg Custodian ssteinberg@manistee.org
   
Nutrition Service
 Keri CarlsonNutrition Service Director kcarlson@manistee.org
Stacy ApplegarthNutrition Servicebapplegarth@manistee.org
Jessica BrownNutrition Service 
 Richard KoonNutrition Service (Driver) rkoon@manistee.org
Bonnie KruseNutrition Servicebkruse@manistee.org
 Terri MorskiNutrition Service (Meals on Wheels) tmorski@manistee.org
 Jennifer RogersNutrition Service (Senior Meals Program) jrogers@manistee.org
 Linda WandrychNutrition Service lwandrych@manistee.org
 Facilities 
Josh SchubertFacilities Directorjschubert@manistee.org
Don OlkMaintenancedolk@manistee.org
Jeff BowermanMaintenancejbowerman@manistee.org
Douglas MonteyConsultantdmontey@manistee.org
 Paine Aquatic Center 
Sara SchubertCoordinatorsschubert@manistee.org
Corey VanFleet cvanfleet@manistee.org
   

 

View Kennedy Staff
Administrative Team

Principal: Joanie Wiersma | jwiersma@manistee.org

Administrative Assistant: Carly Cheever | ccheever@manistee.org


Instructional Staff

Jennifer Abel
Resource Room  jabel@manistee.org

Wendy Adamski 
Specials - PE/Health wadamski@manistee.org 

Leah Antal 
3rd Grade Teacher lantal@manistee.org 

William Edmondson
4th Grade Teacher  wedmondson@manistee.org

Amanda Feyen
Elementary Music  afeyen@manistee.org

Tanya Hunter
5th Grade Teacher thunter@manistee.org

Jaclyn Kaminski
5th Grade Teacher jkaminski@manistee.org

Andrea Mack 
Specials - Instrumental Music amack@manistee.org 

Tina Mannon 
4th Grade tmannon@manistee.org 

Taylor Mellon 
5th Grade Teacher tmellon@manistee.org 

Alayna Neilly
3rd Grade Teacher aneilly@manistee.org

Emily Noteware 
Resource Room enoteware@manistee.org  

Sarah Padgett
4th Grade Teacher spadgett@manistee.org

Michael Rosteck
Specials - Elementary Art mrosteck@manistee.org

Rose Savela
5th Grade Teacher rsavela@manistee.org 

Kayla Szokola 
3rd Grade Teacher kszokola@manistee.org

Sam Zeller
Elementary Coding szeller@manistee.org

Kelly Zimmerman  
4th Grade Teacher kzimmerman@manistee.org

Non-Instructional Staff

Gabby Applegarth
Academic Specialist  gapplegarth@manistee.org

Krista Bennett
Math Coach kbennett@manistee.org

Linda Coyle
Academic Specialist  lcoyle@manistee.org

Chasity Gouker
Title I Reading/Literacy Coach  cgouker@manistee.org

Emma Peake
SafeNet  epeake@manistee.org

Andra Shobe
Academic Specialist  ashobe@manistee.org

Para-Professionals

Ingrid Bond  ibond@manistee.org

Jill Johnson jjohnson@manistee.org

Natalie Knickerbocker nknickerbocker@manistee.org

Maggie Madsen mmadsen@manistee.org

Alissa Stickel astickel@manistee.org

Nutrition Services

Carol Hansen  chansen@manistee.org

Laura Olk  lolk@manistee.org

Custodial Staff

Don Froncek dfroncek@manistee.org

Johnny Skocelas jskocelas@manistee.org

 

 

View Jefferson Staff
Administrative Staff

Julia Raddatz, Principal   raddatzj@manistee.org

Amy Miller, Administrative Assistant   amiller@manistee.org

Kasandra Johnson, Administrative Assistant   kkjohnson@manistee.org

Instructional Staff

Elizabeth Adams, Kindergarten    eadams@manistee.org

Wendy Adamski, Elementary PE/Health    wadamski@manistee.org

Amy Bush, Special Education   abush@manistee.org

McAnn Bradford, Second Grade  mbradford@manistee.org

Amanda Feyen, Elementary Music afeyen@manistee.org

Cindy Lundberg, Kindergarten  clundberg@manistee.org

Cindy Matthes, Second Grade  cmatthes@manistee.org

Isabella Rankin, Second Grade   irankin@manistee.org

Michael Rosteck, Elementary Art mrosteck@manistee.org

Josh Smith First Grade jsmith@manistee.org 

Christine Slawinski, Kindergarten cslawinski@manistee.org

Anna Marie Thompson, First Grade  athompson@manistee.org

Bryan Tomaszewski, Second Grade  btomaszewski@manistee.org

Emily Tomaszewski, First Grade  etomaszewski@manistee.org

Allison Veine, Kindergarten aveine@manistee.org

Michelle Wilson, First Grade mwilson@manistee.org

Sam Zeller, Elementary Coding szeller@manistee.org

Non-Instructional Staff

Krista Bennett, Math Coach   kbennett@manistee.org

Deb Erdman, Academic Specialist  derdman@manistee.org

Deb Forward, Academic Specialist  dforward@manistee.org

Chasity Gouker, Title I Reading/Literacy Coach cgouker@manistee.org

Tracy Shimel, SafeNet  tshimel@manistee.org

Para-Professionals

Macie Goodspeed  mgoodspeed@manistee.org

Trevor Hodges  thodges@manistee.org

Phil Kroll pkroll@manistee.org

Tamara Jackoviak tjackoviak@manistee.org

Michelle Johnson  michellejohnson@manistee.org

Stephanie Johnson  stephaniejohnson@manistee.org

Katy Lacki  klacki@manistee.org

Rachel Lindeman  rlindeman@manistee.org

Kristie Schlafley  kschlafley@manistee.org

Clay Slawinski cslawinski@manistee.org

Misty Weber  mweber@manistee.org

Kelly Weller  kweller@manistee.org

Custodial Staff

Charles Carver  ccarver@manistee.org

Bill Cole  wcole@manistee.org

Nutrition Services

Melissa Gutowski  mgutowski@manistee.org

Bonnie Krus  bkrus@manistee.org

 

View Childcare, Preschool & GSRP Staff
Childcare, Preschool & GSRP Staff - 231-398-3758

Sandy Ludwig - Pre-School Teacher & After School Program - sludwig@manistee.org

Amber Hiipakka - Pre-School Teacher Assistant  ahiipakka@manistee.org

Julie Zajac - Daycare Lead jzajac@manistee.org

Brittan Manke - Daycare bmanke@manistee.org

MAPS Great Start Readiness Program Staff - 231-398-3757

Amy Brown, GSRP Lead Teacher  abrown@manistee.org

Renee Turmel, Lead Teacher  rturmel@manistee.org

Ashley Johnson Classroom Helper akjohnson@manistee.org

Brenda Struble, GSRP Teacher Assistant bstruble@manistee.org

Nancy Zatarga, GSRP nzatarga@manistee.org

View Transportation Staff
Transportation Department (Bus Garage:  231.732.4821)
 
Michael Jarvis, Director of Transportation, mjarvis@manistee.org
 
 
Drivers
Cassandra Adamick
Bonnie Dutkavich, bdutkavich@manistee.org
Mark Feliczak, mfeliczak@manistee.org
Marty Johnson, mjohnson@manistee.org
Lee Miller
Scott Phillips
Linda Robbins, lrobbins@manistee.org
Eric Thuemmel, ethuemmel@manistee.org
Jessica Wisner, jwisner@manistee.org
 
MAPS Student Behavioral Health Services Team

Chris Eldredge, Limited Licensed Psychologist. Chris provides individual and group therapy, psychological services, staff training and crisis intervention at Manistee Middle & High School. Chris has a specialty certification in substance abuse treatment, is an advance trainer in the Nurtured Heart therapy approach and has over 30 years of experience in the mental health field. celdredge@manistee.org

Cecilia Lester, Limited Licensed Masters of Social Work. Cecilia provides individual and group therapy at Manistee Middle & High School. Cecilia has experience supporting students in crisis and linking students to resources. This is Cecilia’s second year working with MAPS. clester@manistee.org

Katie Petoskey, Limited Licensed Masters of Social Work with School Social Worker Certificate. Katie is supporting Kennedy Elementary school students by providing individual therapy and leading Social Emotional Learning (SEL) groups. Katie completed an internship with the MAPS ISD and has a history of working with individuals in a school setting. kpetoskey@manistee.org

Theresa Patnoude, Licensed Professional Counselor. Theresa supports students throughout MAPS by conducting screenings, obtaining consent forms, and developing treatment plans with families and staff. Theresa comes to MAPS with an extensive background in the mental health field as a director, group facilitator and case manager. tpatnoude@manistee.org

Jordan Riley (formerly Jordan Johnson), Masters in Applied Behavioral Analysis. Jordan supports Jefferson Elementary school students with their skill development, collects data, manages crisis, and trains staff in evidence-based practices. Jordan has over 8 years of experience working with individuals with moderate to severe behavioral concerns. jordanriley@manistee.org

Chris Bigelow, Board Certified Behavior Analyst, Licensed Professional Counselor.  Chris is the Director of the Behavioral Health Team and supports MAPS by providing case consultation, data analysis, developing behavior plans, assessing threats, providing Crisis Prevention Intervention (CPI) training, and coordinating care. cbigelow@manistee.org

View MAPS Student Health Center Staff

Amanda Serio, FNP-BC, Medical Provider, Northwest Michigan Health Services, aserio@nmhsi.org

Cheryl Wolfram, Community Health Worker, Northwest Michigan Health Services, Inc, cwolfram@nmhsi.org

Derrick Martinez, LLMSW, Behavioral Health Specialist, Northwest Michigan Health Services, Inc, dmartinez@nmhsi.org

Alicia Harmon, Enabling Services Coordinator/Marketing, Northwest Michigan Health Services, Inc,  aharmon@nmhsi.org

 

Guiding Our Philosophy

Mission

Mariners lead the way by providing an inclusive, high-quality, diverse educational environment that inspires and fulfills the goals of all learners at every stage of their journey.
 

MAPS Leading-Edge Promise

We provide every student with the knowledge and values necessary to become productive and successful citizens of our world. With innovation, dedication, and integrity, we create a learning environment that inspires every student and educator to reach their highest potential.

Vision

Leading a connected Manistee learning community, which supports the educational journey of each individual student through persistent dedication to student-centered success.

Goals

– Deliver on our promise to help every student learn
– Support a collaborative learning and working environment
– Bring focused and positive energy to everything we do
– Minimize behaviors/actions/decisions that drain our resources

Guiding Principle: We believe all students can learn.

Non-Negotiable: Achievement – We will find the potential in each student and create an environment that supports their learning.

Definition
  • Every child that enters our school district will receive our attention and dedication to finding the keys to their personal success.
U

Guiding Principle: All decisions we make are based upon impact to effect learning.

Non-NegotiableImpact– We will focus all efforts on seeking ways to support and extend learning.

Definition
  • Our focus is always on student learning.
  • We are open-minded, lifelong learners who stay in touch with, share, and use research-based practices.
  • We identify and revise practices that do not help students learn.

Guiding Principle: We focus on goals that drive achievement.

Non-Negotiable: ResultsWe will set measurable goals, identify improvement strategies, and skillfully adapt instruction to meet student needs.

Definition
  • Assessment results are used to inform us about the effectiveness of curricular and instructional decisions.
  • We analyze assessment results hold data-driven discussions and make impactful decisions for improved student achievement.
  • We establish attainable goals for specific measurables, in both instructional efforts and individual student progress.
~

Guiding Principle: We are committed to an atmosphere of mutual respect and trust.

Non-Negotiable: Accountability– We will lead by example and take responsibility for the energy we bring to all that we do.

Definition
  • We reflect the values of our Mission & Vision in our daily practice. When our actions match our words, we build trust and respect with each other, our students, and our support community.
  • We work together to establish an atmosphere of trust and respect, in which we can all feel safe to communicate.
  • Our interactions with students and each other are characterized by the tenets of TRACK.
  • We allow individuals to feel comfortable discussing their observations or concerns with one another because they know they will not be judged or punished.
  • Disagreements are treated with respect and acknowledged as an opportunity to learn and grow.
  • Each individual is given equal time to express an opinion or share an idea.

Guiding Principle: We believe that all students belong to all of us.

Non-Negotiable: GuidanceWe will hold ourselves responsible for supporting the educational experience of all MAPS students throughout our district.

Definition
  • We accept and act on the belief that all students belong to all adults.
  • We are committed to working beyond the boundaries of our classrooms and buildings to serve the needs of every student.
  • We work together for the success of all students, there is no blame when things do not go well, but instead we are committed to seeking solutions to problems or setbacks in the interest of each and every student’s achievement.
/

Guiding Principle: Working together enables us to attain our desired outcomes.

Non-Negotiable: Collaboration-We will reach beyond our classrooms and work with each other to identify and support the strengths of every student.

Definition
  • We work together to positively impact student achievement and deliver the Leading-Edge Promise.
  • We focus on and speak only in solutions.
  • Participation in culture building is both a right and a responsibility.
  • TRACK guides the development of character and a positive school environment and is primary to our success as individuals and our ability to instill these values in our students and each other.
  • Our commitment to communication allows for a productive work environment and therefore student success.
  • We put education first, and we know we can deliver on this when we encourage each other to share our best ideas and work collaboratively.
  • Ideas which lead to increased student learning are recognized and praised by peers.

Staff Resources

MAPS Behavioral Health Services

In 2019, the MAPS Behavioral Health Services program was developed through grant funding and in partnership with the Manistee Intermediate School District, CentraWellness, and Northwest Michigan Health Services to address the behavioral health needs of our MAPS students.  The early successes of this program led to consideration of expanding upon the health services provided to our students. 

In 2021, the MAPS Student Health Center opened onsite at MMHS to offer comprehensive primary care and behavioral health services for MAPS students ages 5 to 21 years.  It is open year-round and is comprised of an integrated team of practitioners to address medical and mental health needs.

When the basic health care needs of our students are met, they are better able to perform in school.  Offering accessible care for both preventative and acute care within our district, we intend to provide our students with a holistic approach for overall wellbeing.