Manistee Middle + High School

Grades: 6-12 | Manistee Area Public Schools

MIDDLE+HIGH QUICK LINKS  | Nutrition Services : Student Resources : Parent Resources : Forms & Docs.

Welcome to Manistee Middle/High School!

Chart your course, move forward with confidence, break the mold, forge a new path, blaze the trail, be the change…and Lead the Way!

Mariners Lead the Way!

Please Note: The indoor walking track is closed at this time. The outdoor track may be used for recreational walking after school hours.

Manistee Mariners logo
2023/24 School Nutrition Services Information

We are pleased to inform you that we will be participating in the Community Eligibility Provision (CEP) as part of the National School Lunch and School Breakfast Programs.

The GREAT NEWS is that ALL students enrolled at Manistee Area Public Schools can receive a healthy breakfast and lunch at NO CHARGE to your household each day.

As we start this program for the 23/24 school year, we ask that each household complete a Household Information Report found online at: https://manisteeps.familyportal.cloud. Click "Apply for benefits" to get started. This report only takes five minutes to fill out and must be completed by each household in our District. Paper copies are available upon request. We also ask that you pay any lunch balance due from the prior school year. The CEP Program cannot be in place with overdue balances remaining.

In addition, the Household Information Report is critical in determining the amount of money that our school receives from a variety of State and Federal supplemental programs like Title I A, At-risk (31a), Title II A, E-Rate, etc. These supplemental programs have the potential to offer supports and services for our students including, but not limited to:

  • Instructional support (staff, supplies & materials, etc.)
  • Non-instructional services (counseling, social work, health services, etc.)
  • Professional Learning for staff
  • Parent and Community engagement supplies and activities
  • Technology

We are asking that you please complete and submit the Household Information Report as soon as possible to ensure that additional funding for our school is available to meet the needs of our students. All information on the report submitted is confidential. Without your assistance in completing and returning the report, our school cannot maximize the use of available State and Federal funds. If we can be of any further assistance, please contact us.

Sincerely,

Keri Carlson Nutrition Services Director

 

MMHS Announcements

MAPS ATP Winterfest Weekend at MMHS

Kennedy Student Talent Show Fri Feb 23rd at 6pm Public welcome! Students showcase their talents on stage Student Artwork for Silent Auction Baskets for auction filled with great offerings from our students, faculty and community All proceeds benefit MAPS ATP and FAB...

read more

12-11-23 Prairie Farms Vendor Update

12-11-23 Vendor Update Prairie Farms, our local supplier for milk, has informed us that they have a growing issue with carton shortages. To maintain our ability to serve milk, beginning the week of December 11 and into the New Year, students and the individuals we...

read more

Your MMHS Team


Location: 525 Twelfth Street, Manistee, MI 49660 | Map
Telephone: 231-723-2547
Fax: 231-398-9277
Attendance Hotline: 231-398-3625
School Office Hours: M-Th: 7:30am – 4pm, Friday 7:30am – 3:30pm


Administrative Team

Principal: Andy Huber – ahuber@manistee.org    

Assistant Principal: Morgan Nowicki – mnowicki@manistee.org

Student Success/Dean of Students: Bridget Warnke bwarnke@manistee.org 

Athletic Director: Kenn Kott – kkott@manistee.org

Secretary: Kasandra Johnson – kkjohnson@manistee.org

Secretary: Karen Beldo – kbeldo@manistee.org

Guidance Counselor: Paul Howes – phowes@manistee.org

Guidance Secretary: Tara Lange – tlange@manistee.org

Assistant Athletic Director: Kendra Mikolajczak – kmikolajczak@manistee.org

View MMHS Staff
MMHS Staff  
 
 Name Title / Grade / Content Area Email
 Administrative Staff 
 Andy Huber HS/MS Principal ahuber@manistee.org
 Morgan Nowicki Assistant Principal mnowicki@manistee.org
 Bridget WarnkeDean of Students bwarnke@manistee.org
 Karen BeldoAdministrative Assistant kbeldo@manistee.org
 Kasandra JohnsonAdministrative Assistant kkjohnson@manistee.org
 Guidance 
 Paul Howes Guidance Counselor phowes@manistee.org
 Tara Lange Guidance Administrative Assistant / Registrar tlange@manistee.org
   
   
 Activities 
Kenn KottAthletic Directorkkott@manistee.org
 Kendra MikolajczakActivities Secretary/Athletics Administrative Assistantkmikolajczak@manistee.org
  District Technology 
 Kenneth Blakey-Shell District Technology Director kblakeyshell@manistee.org
 Gabe Delgado Elementary Device Supportgdelgado@manistee.org
Matt Froncek Apple Certified Technician mfroncek@manistee.org
David Gagstetter Data & Device Systems Managerdgagstetter@manistee.org
   
   
  MMHS School Instructional Staff 
 Stacey Andrews-RamseySpanishsandrews@manistee.org
 Gregg BennettSocial Sciencegbennett@manistee.org
 Kylee BohlePEkbohle@manistee.org
 Troy Bytwork Social Science tbytwork@manistee.org
 Amanda Clemons Language Arts aclemons@manistee.org
 Jane Deising Special Education jdeising@manistee.org
 Rachel Edmondson Language Artsreedmondson@manistee.org
 Cindy Erdman Special Education cerdman@manistee.org
 Amanda Feyen Choir afeyen@manistee.org
 Joe Hendges Social Science jhendges@manistee.org
 Marcy Huber Math mhuber@manistee.org
 Kristen Johnson Special Education kjohnson@manistee.org
 Sam Joseph Language Arts sjoseph@manistee.org
 Brooke Koller Special Education bkoller@manistee.org
 Andrea Mack Instrumental Music amack@manistee.org
 Cassie Miller PE/Health cmmiller@manistee.org
 Erryn Moore Math emoore@manistee.org
 Troy Nezki Math tnezki@manistee.org
 Cheryl O'Connor Social Studies coconnor@manistee.org
 Ryan O'Donnell Science rodonnell@manistee.org
 Mary Olson Science molson@manistee.org
 Amber Poortvliet Science apoortvliet@manistee.org
 Kevin Postma Science kpostma@manistee.org
 Amber Puchtel Art apuchtel@manistee.org
 Lucas Quakkelaar Language Artslquakkelaar@manistee.org
 Tobia Purple Special Education tpurple@manistee.org
 Dan Saylor Social Sciencedsaylor@manistee.org
 Polly Schlaff Language Arts pschlaff@manistee.org
 Devin Schweigert Sciencedschweigert@manistee.org
Whitney Simic-Finch Math wsimicfinch@manistee.org
 Joel Smith Social Studies smithj@manistee.org
 Kathy Smith Math ksmith@manistee.org
 Hannah Starmann Language Arts hstarmann@manistee.org
 Amy Watkins Math awatkins@manistee.org
   
Thressa AmbroseAcademic Specialisttambrose@manistee.org
   
Paraprofessionals
Ingrid BondBand Paraprofessionalibond@manistee.org
Logan BondGeneral Supervisionlbond@manistee.org
Carrie CameronGeneral Supervisionccameron@manistee.org
Courtney ColeOne to One Paraprofessionalccole@manistee.org
Alyssa DewittGeneral Supervisionadewitt@manistee.org
Todd GarberGeneral Supervisiontgarber@manistee.org
Kristen MezeskeSensory / General Supervisionkmezeske@manistee.org
Cindy SheathelmParaprofessionalcsheathelm@manistee.org
 Robert Von HerbruckBuilding Substitute rvonherbruck@manistee.org
 Jennifer WilliamsMS Activities Director / Sensory / Library jwilliams@manistee.org
   
 MMHS School Custodial
   
James Kropacek Custodian jkropacek@manistee.org
Dan Lloyd Custodian dlloyd@manistee.org
Steve Sciba Custodian ssciba@manistee.org
Susan Steinberg Custodian ssteinberg@manistee.org
   
Nutrition Service
 Keri CarlsonNutrition Service Director kcarlson@manistee.org
Stacy ApplegarthNutrition Servicebapplegarth@manistee.org
Jessica BrownNutrition Service 
 Richard KoonNutrition Service (Driver) rkoon@manistee.org
Bonnie KruseNutrition Servicebkruse@manistee.org
 Terri MorskiNutrition Service (Meals on Wheels) tmorski@manistee.org
 Jennifer RogersNutrition Service (Senior Meals Program) jrogers@manistee.org
 Linda WandrychNutrition Service lwandrych@manistee.org
 Facilities 
Josh SchubertFacilities Directorjschubert@manistee.org
Don OlkMaintenancedolk@manistee.org
Jeff BowermanMaintenancejbowerman@manistee.org
Douglas MonteyConsultantdmontey@manistee.org
 Paine Aquatic Center 
Sara SchubertCoordinatorsschubert@manistee.org
Corey VanFleet cvanfleet@manistee.org
   

 

Your Journey Continues at MMHS

From our state-of-the-art facilities, to our academic programs, to our ever increasing list of athletic opportunities, clubs, and activities, Manistee High School is truly  one of the premier high school experiences in the State of Michigan. The staff and administration work hard to provide top quality instruction and extracurricular opportunities for students.

At MAPS we want all students to become:

  • Responsible citizens who are ethical, productive members of a global society; take responsibility for their own actions and physical well-being; are environmentally conscious; and contribute their time; energies, and talents for the improvement of their community and the quality of life for all.
  • Effective communicators who posses skills in written, visual, and spoken skills.
  • Self-confident individuals who demonstrate a positive self-image and are caring, sensitive and flexible human beings. Life long learners understand that learning is a process, not an event.
Mariners Lead the Way!
Mariners are On Track gold logo

As Manistee Mariners, we are all leaders in our own way. Mariners lead at school, with friends, and in the community by developing healthy relationships, using responsible decision-making and respectful communication.

Mariners are:

T | TRUSTWORTHY — Honest, and dependable

R | RESPECTFUL — Humble and considerate

A | ACCEPTING — Inclusive without judgment

C | COOPERATIVE — Unite towards common goals

K | KIND — Gracious, helpful, and appreciative


“TRACK” is the Manistee Area Public Schools global, district-wide, leaders platform that all educators, staff and students follow throughout their educational journey.  This initiative is connected to course curriculum,  extra curricular programs,  disciplinary procedures, and internal culture.